Beyond Vision: A Journey of Strength Through Glaucoma

녹내장과 함께 생활| The One with Coach Sydney Kamanga: Episode 8 (2024)

Mo' Lanee Sibyl, DPh, PhD
8 min readJun 24, 2024

"Living in Africa with a disability is challenging because the environment is not adapted for physical disabilities, let alone unseen ones like mine. I use a cane with a reflector, which is not easy to get and must be imported. Like a partner, I also have a visual aid to help me navigate. A friend gifted me a BlindShell Classic 2 phone, designed for visually impaired people. It's a smartphone that gives me back control. Despite the challenges, these tools and support systems have significantly impacted my life." — Coach Syndey (2024)

"When I stopped asking 'how' and started asking 'who can help me?' my whole life changed. I realized I wouldn't do everything myself, but I knew people who could help. Someone good with computers could type out proposals, for example. You can build a network around yourself. I'll have someone read my phone messages…

--

--

Mo' Lanee Sibyl, DPh, PhD

I'm ME: replete with the mien of a bard, scholar, Argonaut, Jesus-lover, funfinder, bibliophile, Koreanophile, partner, and wanderer! Podcaster:www.mosibyl.com