Cultural Alchemy: On Being Black Transnational

정체성의 다리|The One with Dr. Kelechi Ibe-Lamberts: Episode 18 (2024)

Mo' Lanee Sibyl, DPh, PhD
7 min readSep 19, 2024

My dad raised me through weekly phone calls. Every Saturday, without fail, he’d call me from Nigeria, offering advice despite the distance and challenges. He always credited me for listening, even when I didn’t fully agree with him. Despite being miles away, his dedication shaped the person I am and the father I strive to become. It taught me that relationships aren’t built solely on proximity but on effort and care. That commitment to connection has become a core value I hope to pass on.” — Dr. Ibe-Lamberts (2024)

“My wife embraced my Nigerian culture with genuine interest despite having no prior interactions with Nigerians before meeting me. She was eager to learn about my traditions, cuisine, and music and even visited my village. Her openness to understanding my background and our shared journey of exploring our cultural differences and similarities enabled us to craft a blended heritage for our children. Our kids are not just Nigerian or African-American; they are a harmonious fusion of both, which enriches their sense of identity and adaptability.”Dr. Ibe-Lamberts (2024)

I can’t even begin to tell you how much of an absolute blast I had sitting down with Dr. Kelechi Ibe-Lamberts! Not only is he a clinical associate professor at the University of Illinois Chicago School of Public Health (fancy, right?), but he’s also the brilliant mind behind the My Black is

--

--

Mo' Lanee Sibyl, DPh, PhD

I'm ME: replete with the mien of a bard, scholar, Argonaut, Jesus-lover, funfinder, bibliophile, Koreanophile, partner, and wanderer! Podcaster:www.mosibyl.com